What is gluten?

What is gluten?

Gluten is a natural protein found in wheat and related cereal grains. Gluten is also found within all foods made from these grains.

Types of cereals that contain gluten

  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Spelt
  • Barley
  • Oats (unless certified gluten-free)*

Foods containing gluten include bread, pasta, biscuits, cakes, crackers some breakfast cereals, thickened sauces and some processed meats (e.g sausages),  Gluten provides structure and the typical spongy, crisp or airy texture expected of baked foods. Gluten may also be found in foods that you might not expect, including some types of alcoholic drinks, confectionary and ready meals.   You should always check the ingredients list if you are unsure if the product contains gluten.

*Standard oats are often contaminated with gluten during growing and processing. Oats specifically labelled as ‘gluten-free’ are suitable for people with coeliac disease to consume from diagnosis. Always follow the advice of your healthcare professional.