Understand the list of ingredients on convenience foods

Understand the list of ingredients on convenience foods

Having a look at the list of ingredients is a must when shopping! But where is gluten to be found apart from in wheat? The simplest guidance is provided by the crossed grain ear which unambiguously identifies gluten-free foods. Otherwise it helps to bear in mind when shopping: the fresher, the more gluten-free, and the more strongly processed, the more gluten it probably contains. You should take care with convenience foods and foods such as ham, sausage, blancmange and yoghurt: for reasons to do with food production technology, these can contain gluten even though it doesn’t say so in the list of ingredients. You should also be careful with spices and sauces (ketchup, mustard etc.).