I don’t quite understand the list of ingredients on the products. What do I need to look out for?

I don’t quite understand the list of ingredients on the products. What do I need to look out for?

Gluten is unfortunately not always clearly indicated. To be on the safe side you need to look for products displaying the crossed grain ear (“gluten-free”) on the packaging. Apart from that you need to look carefully: wheat flour and wheat components indicate gluten. But it’s also present but hidden in lots of convenience foods because it possesses certain properties which are beneficial in food technology. It is, for example, a good carrier of flavourings or acts as a stabiliser. Gluten is often to be found as an invisible component in spices, ice cream, yoghurt and blancmange, but also in ham and sausage. In general it helps to bear in mind: the fresher a foodstuff, the more likely it is to be gluten-free, and the more strongly processed, the more likely to contain gluten. You’ll also find more information about this in this article about gluten-free shopping tips.