Are additives gluten-free?
Additives are indicated as E-numbers on food packaging. They are added to food in order to extend their shelf life, to intensify flavour, to improve the appearance or to simplify processing. All food additives must be explicitly inspected and permitted by the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA). Additives are generally gluten-free, should they, however, contain gluten, this has to be indicated in the list of ingredients according to the “Allergen Labelling” regulations.