Oats - sporty and gluten free
It has often been said that oats are not gluten free, but the fact is that this nutritious cereal has been unfairly excluded from a gluten free diet.
Although oats are gluten free by nature, there is a grain of truth behind the concerns that made the consumption of oats by those with coeliac disease so questionable for a long time. This is partly due to the fact that some people simply do not tolerate oats and partly due to the fact that oat fields are traditionally surrounded by fields where many other grains are cultivated. These other grains often contain gluten. Oats from such fields are obviously out of the question for us. Long studies and preparations were therefore necessary in order to find cultivation areas and contract farmers who could guarantee absolute safety for our products.
Oats: an innovative cereal with a rich tradition
Oats have been an integral part of people’s diet in Europe for many centuries. They have always been present in kitchen cupboards and everyday simple meals such as porridge. In the Middle Ages they were the most important cereal of all. Today, oats are celebrating a real renaissance, and not only as part of a gluten free diet. The considerable energy value (100 g oats contain 353 calories) and the nutrients it contains make it appealing to those who do a lot of sport. However, its appeal is not limited to this group: people who pay particular attention to their diet (it is very easy to digest) and regular foodies (it has a unique flavour) swear by oats.
Our research and development department is also enthusiastic about oats, which are now available to us from 100 % gluten free cultivation. In order to be absolutely sure of the purity and quality of the oats, we obtain them from our contract farmers, who cultivate them in a strictly controlled, sustainable manner in the Middle East. For us, oats are also especially innovative because, in addition to their excellent nutritional properties, they bring a new taste profile to the gluten free product range. For this reason, research into oats, millet and buckwheat is also part of the EU Interreg RE-CEREAL project initiated by Dr. Schär.
Our favourite oats
Our super-crunchy Biscotto all’Avena (oatmeal biscuits) which contain a high proportion of high-quality wholemeal oats, prove just how delicious - and rich in nutrients - these super-grain oats taste. Those who prefer a little spice will love the slightly nutty Knäckebröd (crispbread). The oat assortment also includes Choco Müsli, which is the perfect breakfast for those with a sweet tooth, and the sweet Fruit Bar, which makes a great snack.
For the hobby chefs among you: There is a wonderful range of uses for oats in various recipes. The oat species Avena, in particular, is particularly delicious in the form of gluten free oat flakes for homemade muesli and muesli bars. Oats are available in many forms including instant oat flakes, oat bran and whole grains, which make homemade bread and biscuits crunchier, tastier and give bread a lovely crispy crust.
Oats - winning the power grain check
Oats are a massive source of energy and contain remarkable amounts of B vitamins, zinc, iron, magnesium and high proportion of essential amino acids and natural vegetable fats. They are also a source of amino acids and natural vegetable fats, which contain polyunsaturated fatty acids (oelic and linolic acids). These acids are good for the heart and circulation, and promote optimum functioning for various organs, particularly the brain. Those who eat oats stay full for a long time. This is mainly due to the high dietary fibre content in oats. Dietary fibre balances blood sugar and cholesterol levels. In oats, this role and responsibility for boosting intestinal functioning is primarily fulfilled by beta-glucan, a soluble dietary fibre. Oats also contain almost 12 % more vegetable proteins than other types of grain.
Oats in gluten free everyday life and the issue of tolerance
Avenin is one of the protein components in oats. It is suitable for a gluten free diet, but a small percentage of people with coeliac disease are sensitive to the prolamin avenin. It is in its composition (polypeptide chains) similar to cereals that contain gluten. But don't worry, the symptoms that sometimes occur when people first start to consume oats are usually due to the high fibre content in this cereal. For people who normally consume very little fibre, this sudden high intake of these fibre can temporarily lead to bloating, a feeling of pressure and prostprandial fullness or even abdominal pain. Therefore it is advisable to start by eating a small amount and simply increase the quantity of oats bit by bit. It is generally recommended not to eat oats after diagnosis. It is advisable to wait until the antibody levels in the blood return to within the normal range. In other words, you should start eating oats at the earliest six months after diagnosis. After this time period you should start step by step and under medical supervision.
Oats in the expert check: good, gluten free news
For almost 40 years we have been developing and producing gluten free foods according to the highest quality and safety standards. This also means that we continuously work on improving our products. We have set up a highly specialized research and development department, which is dedicated specifically to product innovation and research into new raw ingredients - including oats. Our specialists, scientists, doctors and representatives of coeliac disease groups from various European countries agree on the use of oats in a gluten free diet. From a technological point of view, oats are similar to other gluten free cereals, such as rice and maize. Oats are a delicious and great addition for the production of gluten free products.
This is also confirmed by research around the globe. Various clinical studies have shown that oats have no negative effects on people with gluten intolerance - and that oats that are sourced from gluten free fields can be tolerated without any problems. For this reason, the delicious super-grain has long since become a fixture in gluten free diets in countries such as Canada, the USA and Sweden. In 2009, the European Commission included oats in the list of ingredients for gluten free products. In Scandinavia the decision was made even earlier: in these countries, oats have long since been integrated into both controlled agriculture and the daily diets of people with coeliac disease. The clinical advisory board of the Finnish Coeliac Society released oats for gluten free adult nutrition back in 1997.
Gluten free security: the strictest of controls from field to mill
A prerequisite for the carefree consumption of oats is their origin - particularly, of course, for people who are gluten-intolerant. It has been proven that oats are naturally gluten free. Commercially available oats may well be contaminated by cereals that contain gluten. This can occur during cultivation, if a harvesting machine is also used for other cereals that contain gluten, or within the supply chain. It is therefore important to pay attention to the gluten free label when purchasing oat products. Only then can consumers be sure that tight controls have been carried out throughout the entire supply process and that the oats have been strictly separated from wheat, rye, barley, etc. right from the start. The gluten content of oat products that may be labelled gluten free is below the legally prescribed value of 20 parts per million (ppm). We also carry out these checks extremely carefully and completely: This starts with us checking cultivation on the fields. We then conduct continuous audits in the grain mills. We also carry out a whole series of corresponding analyses in order to be doubly certain.