Living gluten free – Here’s what I can eat
When following the gluten free diet, you may consume any food that does not contain gluten.
While that sounds quite easy, it’s anything but. Owing to gluten’s food technology properties, it is frequently used in processed foods and lurks where one might not expect it to be.
If you have to follow a gluten free diet, you may eat any food that is naturally gluten free or that is unequivocally labelled as ‘gluten free”. Cereals that are naturally gluten free may be contaminated with gluten, which is why you should choose products that display the ‘gluten free’ label. This is the case for maize, millet, buckwheat, quinoa and amaranth, among others.
Many foods are naturally gluten free and may be consumed in their unprocessed state without hesitation: fruit and vegetables, meat and fish, eggs, milk and dairy products.
Good to know: this state is not changed by pure preservation, such as through pasteurisation of the milk, deep-freezing of vegetables or drying of herbs.
The Crossed Grain symbol is an additional identifying feature.
When following a gluten free diet, you must absolutely avoid gluten-containing cereals and products manufactured from these products. For this reason, it is important to always be vigilant when selecting foods and when eating, since food additives, flavourings and filers and binding agents can also contain gluten. In many cases, ingredients that contain gluten are added during processing, since gluten offers a variety of beneficial properties for food processing and is also a good supporting agent, for instance for flavouring. However, gluten must be indicated on the packaging in the EU. For this reason, you must always read the labels when you are shopping for food. But don’t panic or get stressed out.
You need to be careful when it comes to the following products. Would you have thought they could contain gluten?
Chips, croquettes, potato pancakes, sausage, sausages, ice cream, hazelnut spread, low-fat products, crisps, flips and other salty snacks, ketchup, mustard, spicy sauces, chocolate, sweets, spice mixes, bouillon cubes, baking powder, white sauces, soups, ready meals, pudding, soy sauce, marzipan.
You have now learned a great deal about gluten and the products it is contained in. Are you fit for following the gluten free diet? Test your knowledge!