How do I read the list of ingredients correctly?
It is a MUST to look at the list of ingredients when shopping gluten-free! But where does gluten hide other than in wheat? The easiest way is to find the symbol of the crossed out wheat ear, which clearly indicates gluten-free food. Otherwise this memory hook for gluten-free products can help: The fresher the more gluten-free and the more it has been processed the more likely gluten is contained. Pay special attention to finished products or food such as spices, ham, sausage, pudding, ice cream and yoghurt: here very often gluten can be added for food technological reasons without appearing on the list of ingredients, because it is a good carrier for flavourings or acts as a stabilizing agent. You should also take care when using spices and sauces (ketchup, mustard, mayonnaise…). The sentence “May contain traces of gluten” on the packaging can be useful.