10 questions, 10 answers

10 questions, 10 answers

Frequently Asked Questions!

Q: Switching to gluten free exposes me to the risk of nutritional deficiencies?
A:
No, not necessarily, but it is advisable to follow a balanced diet so as not to deprive yourself of essential nutrients. After the detection of celiac disease, it is advisable to undergo a blood test to ascertain any possible nutritional deficiencies and take measures with the help of a dietitian. In any case, the key to everything is equilibrium.

Q: What happens if someone who is not suffering from celiac disease or from gluten sensitivity eats gluten-free foods?
A:
Absolutely nothing. Following a gluten-free diet from time to time does not harm the body and is not a risk. The whole family can freely put gluten-free food on the table and try new recipes, without having to worry about their health.

Q: If I am celiac, can I eat food with gluten from time to time?
A:
Absolutely NOT!
There are no exceptions when it comes to celiac disease. Even if your body takes some time to react to gluten and you don’t immediately feel a sense of discomfort, your immune system is still compromised and your intestinal villi are subject to inflammation.
Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease and those who suffer from it should treat it with the utmost seriousness.

Q: How long will it take me to feel better after being diagnosed with celiac disease?
A:
Excellent question! Finally you know what's happening to you. You just have to have a little patience and constancy in moving to a new diet. As soon as you start eating gluten-free products, the symptoms will disappear and you'll feel better. In the meantime, you might like to get some ideas and advice from other people in your same situation. In the online communities there is the most effective support and the most useful advice.

Q: Do I have to have a set of dedicated cooking utensils or an entire kitchen for me?
A:
Better safe than sorry, but you don’t need to upset your home. All you need is a toaster, a bread container and maybe a cupboard exclusively reserved for you in the kitchen. Another tip is to put your name on kitchen utensils (especially wooden ones) to be exclusively used with gluten-free products.
It is important that, with each new use, the work surfaces (especially the wooden chopping boards) have been cleaned thoroughly and have no residues of previously prepared food.
Soon these tricks will become part of your routine and your gluten-free cooking will go great and smoothly.

Q: If I am celiac, will my children be too?
A:
This autoimmune condition is not necessarily hereditary. In any case, it may be a good idea to make your children do the recommended blood tests. If celiac disease is detected, a biopsy of the small intestine may be necessary. In doubtful cases the genetic test is also recommended, which is not sufficient to make a diagnosis, but can rule out any suspicion of celiac disease.

Q: Can I drink beer?
A:
The sun sets on the horizon, a light breeze blows and you really want to have a beer. Green light?

Yes, as long as the label has the "Gluten-free" symbol. Given the large number of gluten-free beers on the market, you are spoiled for choice. Cheers!

Q: Can I eat chips?
A:
Fries are much more than just fries. Even if potatoes don’t contain gluten, you must carefully read the list of ingredients on the package.
When you fry, be sure to use a fryer and oil reserved for you. Or at least be sure to fry gluten-free foods first.

Q: Can I eat ketchup?
A:
Ketchup and mayonese are an integral part of many meals. But look out: any sauce can hide ingredients containing gluten. Always pay close attention to the instructions on the package and investigate to be on the safe side.

Q: Can I eat oats?
A:
Oats are a great food to start the day and are a basic ingredient in muesli.
It is rich in:

  • Important vitamins of the B group
  • Zinc
  • Iron
  • Magnesium
  • Proteins
  • Polyunsaturated fatty acids

From March 2016, oat products containing oats not contaminated with gluten are marked with a crossed-out ear symbol. At the bottom of the symbol, the word "OATS" has been placed on the label to inform the consumer that the product in question is certified gluten-free and contains non-contaminated oats.

However, before eating the next bowl of cereal with yogurt or milk, you should contact your doctor to find out if you can eat oats or not. Some people, for example, cannot.

If you have any other questions, do not hesitate to contact your general practitioner or dietitian.