Does the "modified corn starch" in your ingredients just contain corn?

Profile picture for user Kamm
By Kamm
Tuesday, 10. January 2017 - 02:35
Does the "modified corn starch" in your ingredients just contain corn? I've learned that "modified" with any sort or vegetable, corn, etc starch means that it's very likely it has wheat gluten in it. I cannot have gluten at all! I have an asthma attack if I consume anything with gluten (especially wheat) in it.
Profile picture for user Kisha Consumer Service
By Kisha Consumer Service
9 months 1 week ago
Thanks for contacting Schar. However, all of products are well below the 20 parts per million required by FDA. Please rest assured that we are certified gluten free company. The only item I would not recommend for you to consume are the frozen croissants because they have wheat starch in them but the gluten has been removed. Therefore, if you are Celiac, the croissants are safe for consumption but if you have a wheat allergy they are not.
Profile picture for user Betty Frank Oatley club-58792e12c97ed
By Betty Frank Oatley
9 months 1 week ago
Profile picture for user Betty Frank Oatley club-58792e12c97ed
By Betty Frank Oatley
9 months 1 week ago
Schar croissants
Profile picture for user Annie Jean
By Annie Jean
7 months 2 weeks ago
According to the Gluten-Free Living website:

Modified corn starch is an ingredient used in many foods. It is simply corn starch that has been altered by a chemical or enzyme to enable it to perform certain functions in food. For example, corn starch breaks down when heated, but modified corn starch used as a gelling agent better maintains texture in microwaved food. The FDA’s Code of Federal Regulations spells out what can be used to modify corn starch, as well as other starches, and none of the allowed substances contain gluten.

Modified corn starch sometimes appears on a label as plain “modified food starch.” In that case it is still gluten free. The only time you have to worry about modified food starch is when it is made from wheat. On foods regulated by the FDA, wheat has to be specified on the label so the label will say “modified wheat starch,” “modified food starch (wheat),” or wheat will be listed after the ingredients in a “contains” statement.
Profile picture for user Betty Frank Oatley club-58792e12c97ed
By Betty Frank Oatley
6 months 1 week ago
Do you have ready made pie crust that are Gluten Free? I don't like make my own pie crust. I used to use the Pillsbury ready made pie crust till I found out my husband has Celiac disease.