The gluten free food pyramid

The gluten free food pyramid

How to eat in a healthy and balanced way using the gluten free food pyramid.

Let's look at the food pyramid


What foods can we eat and how much?  With the gluten free food pyramid, it's easy to make sure you have healthy food on your plate. The pyramid shows on five levels (1 - frequent consumption, 5 - minimum consumption) how a healthy and balanced gluten free diet should be composed: lots of fruit, vegetables and cereals, limited animal products and limited fats and sugars.

First level: liquids

The base of the gluten free pyramid consists of a notable supply of liquids. You should drink 1.5-2 litres a day. Recommended: water, unsweetened tea, very diluted fruit juice. Consume drinks containing caffeine such as coffee, green or black tea with moderation.

Second level: vegetables, salad, fruit, healthy fats, wholemeal bread, seeds and cereal products

Here we have the "5 times a day rule" divided in 2 portions of fruit and 3 portions of vegetables, better still if fresh and seasonal. A glass of fruit or vegetable juice equals one portion.

Important to know: fruit and vegetables are rich in fibre, vitamins, mineral salts, trace elements and antioxidants.

The fats and the oils contain essential fatty acids and fat-soluble vitamins (A,D,E,K). The healthiest fats are those that are derived from vegetables such as cold-pressed olive oil and seed oil. We recommend that you consume a maximum of three 10-gram portions a day.

With main meals: gluten free bread rolls and bread (unsweetened), gluten free cereal flakes, muesli, pasta, rice and potatoes. Seeds and cereals are rich in carbohydrates and fibre. They provide easily used energy. You should consume a food in this group at each meal up to a total of three portions a day. 1 portion = approx. 80-100g of gluten free bread, approx. 200g of potatoes, approx. 100g of gluten free pasta.

Important to know:  Sweet muesli bars or sweet gluten free snacks consumed between meals are considered sweet treats.

Third level: meat, fish, eggs, legumes

Meat, fish and eggs are sources of protein, fats, mineral salts and vitamin B. Legumes such as beans, lentils, peas and chickpeas belong to this group, as they are rich in carbohydrates and protein. We recommend that you consume one portion of fish or meat (approx. 100-120 grams) or legumes twice a week (approx. 60 grams). The healthiest choice is lean beef, chicken and fish.  Eggs should not be consumed more than two times a week.

Fourth level: milk and dairy products

Milk and dairy products such as yoghurt, soft and mature cheese contain protein, fats, calcium and vitamins. We recommend that you limit consumption to two portions a day, equal to approx. 120 grams, consuming fat-reduced cheese if possible.

Fifth level: animal fats and sugars

Animal fats (such as butter) should be consumed in moderation. There are also hidden fats in cold meats, sauces, creams and sweet products.

We recommend:  You consume these foods occasionally and limit quantities of sweet products, savoury snacks and sugared drinks, using sugar in extreme moderation.